Surface Finish

Surface Finish

Surface Finish

Surface Finish as Cast.

General purpose of standard on as cast surface finish. For some applications it is desirable to specifiy surface finish requirements. Specification is to classify as cast surface finish of diecastings into a series of grades so that the type of finish required may be defined in advance.

Cast Finish

  1. Surface imperfections (cold shut, blisters, oil flow marks, surface porosity, etc.) not objectionable.
  2. Some surface imperfections (cold shut, rubs, surface porosity, etc.) not objectionable.
  3. Slight surface imperfections (cold shut, rubs, surface porosity, etc.), that can be removed by spot polishing not objectionable.
  4. Surface imperfections, that can be removed by automatic buffing, not objectionable.
  5. No objectionable surface imperfections that would be highlighted by electro-chemical polishing. Where surface waviness (flatness) noted by light reflection is a reason for rejection, special agreement should be reached.

End Finish

  1. Surface finish of no importance
  2. Protective coatings:
    Anodize (non decorative)
    Chromate
    Heavy paint
    Matt or wrinkle finish
  3. Decorative coatings:
    Lacquers
    Enamels
    Plating (A1)
    Chemical finish
    Polished finish
  4. Structural parts (high stress areas)
    Plating (Zn).
    Electrostatic plating
Industry Awards

North Tyneside Business Awards 2012
Manufacturer of the Year

North Tyneside Business Awards 2012
Business of the Year

TDR Training Awards 2012
Small business of the year

Find us at NE29 8RF
Departmental Email addresses

General Manager

Mark Smithms@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916008

Sales and Technical

General Enquiriessales@norfran.co.uk

Dean Curtisdc@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916005

Harrison Brownehb@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916003

Production Engineering

Malcolm Rowntreemr@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916014

Production

Olivia Derrickod@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916001

Quality

Andrew Thompsonat@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916002

Accounts

Karl Walkerkw@norfran.co.uk
+44 (0) 191 2916010